Cakes · Other Bits!

Part 1 – The Brown Hound Bakery

The IFBA (Irish Food Bloggers Association) recently organised an outing to the Eastern Seaboard Bar and Grill, and two newly- opened sister-businesses, The Brown Hound Bakery and Mo’s 2 Go Take-Away, located in Drogheda, Co. Louth.  As I am already a customer, I just had to go along, to learn a little more about them.
Drogheda BrownHound Bakery

 Part 1 of our visit started in The Brown Hound Bakery.  Since it opened only a few weeks ago, it has become an instant success.  Beautifully designed, the interior is relaxed and homely, but very sophisticated.  The building, which houses both the Bakery and Mo’s 2 Go, was purpose-built, and the bakery kitchen is located above.  All of the baked goods sold in the shop are made on the premises.

Craig Thompson Cakes

Many of cakes were created by Craig Thompson,  Baker, and owner of Shandaken Bake Shop, New York.  The recipes are inspired by those of his Grandmother, and he spent three months here in Ireland, baking and training the staff  to make his beautiful creations.  His input played an integral part in the opening of The Brown Hound Bakery.

 



As well as the fabulous cakes, there are muffins, cookies, doughnuts, (and the middles!) scones (biscuits) – both savoury and sweet, and coffee too. A good selection of teas are also available.

Cookies Brown Hound Bakery




 
 

 

 

 We were each very kindly given a lovely box containing a selection of mini cookies and cakes to sample later.  

Owners Jeni and Reuven (who is also the Head Chef) have created three “neighbourhood” businesses here.  They have built a steady reputation and a loyal clientele for their restaurant, and now are doing the same with The Brown Hound Bakery and Mo’s.  Long may their success here continue.

I stole a march on most of the people who were also on the visit, as I have already sampled the food in all three business.  The cakes, as does everything else,  taste gorgeous.  

There is a beautiful display area inside the door of the Bakery containing lots of lovely gifts to purchase.   Here are some which caught my eye.

  How lucky am I to have these places to visit, any time I want?  Very lucky, I would say!

Coming soon – Part 2 (Mo’s To Go Take Away) and Part 3 (Eastern Seaboard Restaurant)…..

12 thoughts on “Part 1 – The Brown Hound Bakery

  1. I envy you living so close to all these amazing businesses – but if I'm honest, it's just as well for my waistline that I don't live any closer than I do to the bakery in particular! It was lovely to meet you on Saturday.

    Like

  2. Thank's Fiona. It's a great shop to have here. If you do pass this way, it really is worth a visit. Let me know if ever you do, and I will be there straight away!

    Like

Comments